Home < Research and collections < Research Guides" />

Maps Collections

Maps of Sydney

Where to find maps of Sydney

Subdivision Plans, Auction Plans, Sales Plans

A great resource for local history are subdivision plans which were produced by real estate agents to publicise land for sale. The Library holds many thousands of New South Wales subdivision plans.  

The subdivision plans for Sydney are now all available to view online. 

  • In the catalogue search using the name of the suburb and keywords subdivision plans.  For example:  Paddington subdivision plans.  When you find the suburb select 'online access' to view the digitised plans.  Remember that suburbs developed after 1940 may not feature in this collection. 

We have also provided a search box below.  Just enter the name of the suburb.  

You can download the image, or if you would like an archival print, contact the Library Shop.  You will need to quote the FL number which sits below the image on the screen. 

The plans are out of copyright and are free to share, use or re-purpose, remembering to acknowledge the State Library as the source of the image. 

Search Subdivision Plans

 

Search Subdivision Plans

 

Search Map collections

Maps of Sydney in other collections

Atlas of the Suburbs of Sydney (1886-1889) at Dictionary of Sydney

Historical Atlas of Sydney provides links to many important maps such as survey plans and insurance plans of city buildings from the City of Sydney Archives

Historic Land Records Viewer provides access to thousands of digitised parish, county and town maps for New South Wales from the records of NSW Land and Property Information Authority. 

State Records of New South Wales maps of Darling Harbour and Port Jackson resumptions