Convicts: Bound for Australia

Key to library resources

Access anywhere with a library card In the Library (or anywhere with a Library card for NSW residents)
Available to access in the library Only in the Library
Publicly available online Publicly available

Hulk records explained

Hulk records explained

This list has been compiled from the following:

  • Examination of microfilms PRO 4879-4883
  • Micro Reference Book 2.2 HO4-HO8/9 in the Mitchell Library
  • State Records Authority of NSW: Guide 4: Convicts and convict administration: Appendix IV: List of convict records in the Public Record Office, London, available on Australian Joint Copying Project microfilm.

All indexes mentioned below have been checked against the records on the microfilm. The hulk names have been taken from the indicator card on the microfilm or by comparing records with indexes. Some errors appear to have been made on the indicator card, so a question mark has been placed next to the hulk name.

PRO 4879

Piece no.Folio no.DatesLocationHulk

HO9/1

Indicator card: 1820-1833: Chatham: Ganymede, Dolphin, Cumberland

HO9/1

f.1-75

Sept 1814-Sept 1830

Chatham

Index to Ganymede (?) and Dolphin (?). Index gives original page number on which convict appears. Check right through the index as some sequences of some letters are not in order. Records at HO9/1: f.76-136 (Ganymede) and f.137-147 (Dolphin). Note: Further records for Dolphin 1819-1834 at ADM 6/420-430 PRO Reels 1760-1761. Ask at the Special Collections desk in the Mitchell Library.

HO9/1

f.76-136

Sept 1814-Feb 1830

Chatham

Ganymede. Convicts arranged by convict No. – i.e. by date received (No’s 1-4307). Index at HO9/1 f.1-75.

HO9/1

f.137-147

Feb 1830-Sept 1830

Chatham

Dolphin. Convicts arranged by convict No. – i.e. by date received (No’s 1-724). Index at HO9/1 f.1-75? Note: Further Dolphin records 1819-1834 at ADM 6/420-423 (PRO Reel 1760-1761). Ask at the Special Collections desk in the Mitchell Library.

HO9/1

f.148-187

Oct 1830-Nov 1833

Chatham

Index to Cumberland. Index gives convict number. Records at HO9/1 f.188-219. Further Cumberland records (1830-1833) available at ADM 6/418-419 (PRO Reel 1760-1761). Ask at the Special Collections desk in the Mitchell Library.

HO9/1

f.188-219

Oct 1830-Nov 1833

Chatham Cumberland. Convicts arranged by convict No. - i.e. by date received (No’s 725-3271). (*Note that the dates and convict numbers run on from the Dolphin’s records at HO9/1 f.173-147 Note that many convicts have a 2nd number noted in the "How disposed of" column. It may say "in FR" next to this number. FR is Fortitude Register which see at HO9/2 f.67-121. Records indexed at HO9/1 f.148-187. Further Cumberland records available at ADM 6/418-419 (PRO Reels 1760-1761). Ask at the Special Collections desk in the Mitchell Library.

HO9/2

Indicator card: 1825-1836: Chatham: Fortitude, Euryalus.

HO9/2

f.1-66

Dec 1825-Dec 1836

Chatham

Index to Fortitude. Alphabetical by surname. Index gives convict No. Records listed at HO9/2, f.67-121.

HO9/2

f.67-121

Dec 1825-Dec 1836

Chatham

Fortitude. Convicts arranged by convict No. – i.e. by date received (Convict No’s 1-3459). Indexed at HO9/2 f.1-66.

HO9/2

f.123-167

Feb? 1825-Dec 1836

Chatham

Euryalus. f.123=men (Convict No.s 1-45); f.124-167=boys (Convict No.s. 1-2723). Convicts arranged by convict No. – i.e. by date received. Indexed at HO9/2 f.168-215.

HO9/2

f.168-215

Feb? 1825-Dec 1836

Chatham

Index to Euryalus. Alphabetical by surname. Each letter of the alphabet has 2 sequences: one for men and one for boys. Records listed at HO9/2, f.123-167.

HO9/3

Indicator card: 1821-1833: Woolwich and Devonport: Captivity, Ganymede, Discovery.

HO9/3

f.1-23

1822?-Feb 1834

Devonport

Captivity. Convicts arranged by convict No. – ie by date received (No’s 1-2067). Note: some convicts were transferred to the Leviathan April 1834 - records at HO9/8 f.320-326. These convicts have their Captivity hulk number listed next to their new Leviathan number. No index found. Note: Other Captivity records 1816-1830 at PRO Reel 4881 HO9/8 f.179-268.

HO9/3

f.24-53

Aug 1818-Dec 1836

Woolwich?

Index to unidentified hulk (Ganymede?). Gives original page number on which convict appears. Note that because there was not enough room in the indexes for entries for some letters of the alphabet, a note is placed on the bottom of the index page to indicate under which letter you will find the remainder of the names for that letter of the alphabet. In some cases no indication is made. It is worth checking carefully through the whole index for sequences of letters. If this is the Ganymede, note that another index to Ganymede records (1814-1830) exists at PRO Reel 4879 HO9/1 f.1-75. Records listed at HO9/3 f.54-103.

HO9/3

f.54-103

Aug 1818-Dec 1836

Woolwich?

Unidentified hulk (Ganymede?). Convicts arranged by convict No. – ie by date received (No’s 1-4006). Indexed at HO9/3 f.24-53. If this is the Ganymede, note that other Ganymede records (1814-1830) exist at PRO Reel 4879 HO9/1 f.76-136.

HO9/3

f.104-126

Sept 1818?-Apr 1833?

Woolwich

Index to Discovery. Gives original page number on which convict appears. Records at HO9/3 f.127-135.

HO9/3

f.127-135

Sept?1818- Apr 1833?

Woolwich and Devonport

Discovery. Convicts arranged by convict No. – ie by date received (No’s 1-712) Indexed at HO9/3 f.104-126.

HO9/4

Indicator Card: 1803-1836:Woolwich: Prudentia, Retribution, Justitia.

HO9/4

f.1-14

Apr 1803- Nov 1809

Woolwich

Prudentia. Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received. (Convict No.s 1-1088). No index found.

HO9/4

f.15-54

Apr 1803-Nov 1814

Woolwich

Retribution. Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received. (Convict No.s 1-3412). No index found. Note: convicts 3413-3508 are crossed off but these convicts appear at the beginning of the Justitia Hulk records at HO9/4 f.55-57. These Retribution records here differ to the Retribution records (1802-1823) at PRO Reel 4880, HO9/7 f.1-66.

HO9/4

f.55-61

Aug 1814-Jan 1816

Woolwich

Justitia. Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received. (Convict No.s 754-1205). List continues on PRO Reel 4880. Indexed at PRO Reel 4880 HO9/5: f.1-46.

PRO 4880

Piece no.Folio no.DatesLocationHulk

HO9/4

f.62-121

Jan 1816-Sept 1821

Woolwich

Justitia (Continued from PRO 4879) Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received. (Convict No.s 1206-5921). Indexed at HO9/5:f.1-46

HO9/4

f.122-150

Sep 1821-Dec 1824

Woolwich 

Justitia. Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received. (Convict No.s 5922-8141). Indexed at HO9/5: f.1-46

HO9/4

f.151-245

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Woolwich

Justitia. Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received (Convict No.s 1-7481). Indexed at HO9/5: f.47-108

HO9/4

f.246-288

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Justitia. Convicts arranged by convict number – i.e. by date received (Convict No.s 1-2763). Continued on PRO Reel 4882, HO9/13: f.1-125. Convict surnames A-V indexed at HO9/5: f.109-146. Also indexed at HO9/5: f.79-108.

HO9/5

Indicator Card: No dates. Index to Justitia.

HO9/5

f.1-46

Aug1814-Dec 1824

Woolwich

Index to Justitia 1814-1824. Index gives convict number. Records at HO9/4 f.55-150 (Reels 4879-4880).

HO9/5

f.47-75

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Woolwich Index to Justitia 1825-1833. Surnames A-V. Index gives convict number. See also other indexes for Justitia 1825-1833 at HO9/5. Records at HO9/4: f.151-245.

HO9/5

f.76

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Woolwich

Index to Justitia 1825-1833. Extra surnames for B. Index gives convict number. See also other indexes for Justitia 1825-1833 at HO9/5. Records at HO9/4: f.151-245.

HO9/5

f.76-78

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Woolwich

Index to Justitia. 1825-1833. Surnames W-Y. Index gives convict number. See also other indexes for Justitia 1825-1833 at HO9/5. Records at HO9/4: f.151-245.

HO9/5

f.79-101

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to Justitia Jan 1825-1833 and Jan 1834-Dec 1836. Extra surnames A-T. Index gives convict number. Note that there are 2 sequences of numbers for each letter in this index. First sequence indexes records for Jan 1825-Dec 1833 at HO9/4: f.151-245. The second sequence indexes records for Jan 1834-Dec 1836 at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia 1825-1833 at HO9/5

HO9/5

f.102-103

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Woolwich

Index to Justitia Jan 1825-Dec 1833. Extra surnames beginning with B. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5. Records at HO9/4: f.151-245. 

HO9/5

f.103-105

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to Justitia 1825-1833 and Jan 1834-Dec 1836. Extra surnames beginning with W. Index gives convict number. Note that there are 2 sequences of numbers for this index. First sequence indexes records for Jan 1825-Dec 1833 at HO9/4: f.151-245. The second sequence indexes records for Jan 1834-Dec 1836 at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5

HO9/5

f.105

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to Justitia 1825-1833 and Jan 1834-Dec 1836. Extra surnames beginning with W and G. Index gives convict number. Note that there are 2 sequences of numbers for this index. First sequence indexes records for Jan 1825-Dec 1833 at HO9/4: f.151-245. The second sequence indexes records for Jan 1834-Dec 1836 at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5

HO9/5

f.106

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to Justitia 1825-1833 and Jan 1834-Dec 1836. Extra surnames beginning with B. Index gives convict number. Note that there are 2 sequences of numbers for this index. First sequence indexes records for Jan 1825-Dec 1833 at HO9/4: f.151-245. The second indexes records for Jan 1834-Dec 1836 at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5

HO9/5

f.107

Jan 1825-Dec 1833

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to Justitia 1825-1833 and Jan 1834-Dec 1836. Extra surnames beginning with S and J. Index gives convict number. Note that there are 2 sequences of numbers for S index: First sequence indexes records for Jan 1825-Dec 1833 at HO9/4: f.151-245. The second sequence indexes records for Jan 1834-Dec 1836 at HO9/4: f.246-288. For the letter J, only Jan 1834-Dec 1836 is indexed here. Records at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5.

HO9/5

f.108

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to Justitia Jan 1834-Dec 1836 Extra surnames beginning with W. Index gives convict number. Records at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5

HO9/5

f.109-146

Jan 1834-Dec 1836

Woolwich

Index to JustitiaJan 1834-Dec 1836. Surnames beginning with

A-V. Index gives convict number. Records at HO9/4: f.246-288. See also other indexes for Justitia at HO9/5

HO9/6

Indicator card: Index to Retribution: No dates

HO9/6

f.1-31

March 1832-Feb 1834

Woolwich

Index to Retribution Mar 1832-Feb 1834. A-Y. Names crossed off. Index provides original page number on which convict appears. Records at HO9/7 f.130-142.

HO9/6

f.33-58

Mar 1802-Sept 1823

Woolwich

Index to Retribution Apr 1802-Sept 1823. A-Y. Index provides original page number on which convict appears. Records at HO9/7 f.1-66.

HO9/6

f.59-84

Mar 1802-Sept 1823

Woolwich

Index to Retribution Apr 1802?-Sept 1823. Names crossed off. Provides original page number on which convict appears. Records at HO9/7 f.1-66.

HO9/6

f.85-154

Oct 1823-Mar 1832

Woolwich

Index to Retribution Oct 1823-Feb 1834. Names crossed off. Provides original page number on which convict appears. Note that some letters of the alphabet have 2 consecutive sequences. Records at HO9/7 f.66-130. PRO Reels 4880-4881.

HO9/7

Indicator Card: 1802-1834: Retribution, Bellerophon. No easy distinction.

HO9/7

f.1-66

Mar 1802-Sept 1823

Woolwich

Retribution Apr 1802-Sept 1823. Arranged by convict number – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 1-5206). Indexes at: HO9/6 f.33-84. Note: These records differ to the Retribution records (1803-1814) at PRO Reel 4879, HO9/4 f.15-54.

HO9/7

f.66-124

Oct 1823-May 1831

RetributionOct 1823-May 1831. Arranged by convict number – ie by date received. Index at: HO9/6 f.85-154. (Convict No.s 5207-9357)

Continued on PRO 4881

PRO 4881

Piece no.Folio no.DatesLocationHulk

HO9/7

f.124-130

May 1831-Mar 1832

Woolwich

Retribution May 1831-Mar 1832(Continued from PRO 4880).

Arranged by convict number – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 9358-9732). Indexes at: PRO Reel 4880 HO9/6 f.85-154.

HO9/7

f.130-142

Mar 1832-Feb 1834

Woolwich

Retribution Mar 1832-Feb 1834

Arranged by convict number – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 9111-9942). Index at PRO Reel 4880 HO9/6 f.1-31.

HO9/7

f.143-

Oct 1816-Dec 1825

Sheerness

Index to Bellephon Oct 1816-Dec 1825. Each letter of the alphabet has 2 sequences – one for men and one for boys. Index provides original page number on which convict appears. Note that some convicts in the Bellephon’s records are not indexed. No discernible pattern. No convicts listed on the first 7 pages are indexed. Records at HO9/7 f.183-229

HO9/7

f.183-229

Oct 1816-Dec1825

Sheerness

Bellephon Oct 1816-Dec 1825. Arranged by convict number – ie by date received. Convicts arranged as follows: men and a few boys: Convict no.s 1-2932 at f.183-218; men only: Convict no.s 1-15 at f.219; Boys only Convict no.s 1-662 at f.220-229. Index at HO9/7 f.143-182. Note that some convicts in the Bellephon’s records are not indexed. No discernible pattern. No convicts listed on the first 7 pages are indexed.

HO9/8

Indicator card: 1802-1836: Portsmouth: Portland, Captivity, Leviathan. 3 indexes but no distinction between indexes. (Note: Some distinctions have subsequently been identified – see below)

HO9/8

f.1-28

Apr 1801-Oct 1816

Langstone Harbour

Index to Fortunee and Hospital Hulks and PortlandHulk.

Index gives original page number on which convict appears. Note: Convicts with No.s 1-18 next to their names are on Fortunee and Hospital Hulks (Records at HO9/8 f.29-39) and convicts with No.s 19-89 next to their name are on Portland Hulk (Records at HO9/8 f.39-74). Index may have 2 entries for a convict. Check the alphabetical lists right through to ensure you have noted all references to the convict.

HO9/8

f.29-39

Apr 1801-Nov 1801

Langstone Harbour

Fortunee and Hospital hulks. Convicts arranged by convict numbers – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 1-757). Index at HO9/8 f.1-28. Note: On f.29: "111 convicts sent on board the Corromandel and Perseus marked thus (Corro’). 150 convicts transferred to the Laurel marked thus (Laurel)."

HO9/8

f.39-74

Jan 1802-Oct 1816

Langstone Harbour

Portland. Convicts arranged by convict numbers – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 1-2931). Index at HO9/8 f.1-28. Note on f.74: "on 19 September 1816 the Hospital Establishment of the Portland was broke up and the sick and healthy amounting in all to 50 were sent to the Laurel Hulk as well 80 to the Captivity hulk, 65(?) to the Fame and 30 to the Binsley for NSW. Total number of convicts then remaining on board Portland 149 left Langston Harbour for Sheerness which place they arrived with * Tomkinson and were discharged ? the Bellephon Hulk"

HO9/8

f.75-89

April 1801-Nov 1801 (Laurel and Hospital Hulks)

and

Jan 1802-Sept 1816 (Captivity)

Portsmouth

Index to Laurel and hospital hulks and Captivity (Note: f. 75 only states Captivity). Index gives original page number on which convict appears. Note: Convicts with original page No. 1 to 11 are on the Laurel and Hospital hulks (Records at HO9/8 f.90-95). Convicts with original page No. 15 to 101 are on the Captivity (records at HO9/8 f.96-140). Index may have 2 entries for a convict. Check the alphabetical lists right through to ensure you have noted all references to the convict.

HO9/8

f.90-95

Apr 1801-Nov 1801

Portsmouth

Laurel and hospital hulks. Convicts arranged by convict numbers – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 1-441). Index at HO9/8 f.75-89.

HO9/8

f.96-140

Jan 1802-Sept 1816

Portsmouth

Captivity. Convicts arranged by convict numbers – ie by date received. (Convict No.s 1-3346). Index at HO9/8 f.75-89. Records continued at HO9/8 f.179-268.

HO9/8

f.140-166

Sep 1816-Aug 1830

Portsmouth

Index to unidentified hulk – possibly Captivity. Gives convict number and original page number on which convict appears. Note: this particular index must be searched very carefully as there are multiple sequences of letters and these may appear in a variety of places between f.140-166. See also Addenda to this index at HO9/8 f.167-178. Records at HO9/8 f.179-268.

HO9/8

f.167-178

Sep 1816-Aug 1830

Portsmouth

Addenda (to index to unidentified hulk – probably Captivity at HO9/8 f.140-166). Addenda gives original page number on which convict appears. Records at HO9/8 f.179-268.

HO9/8

f.179-268

Sept 1816- Aug 1830

Portsmouth

Unidentified hulk records – possibly Captivity. Convicts arranged by convict number – ie by date received. Convict Nos. 3347-10181. Continued from HO9/8 f.96-140.

Indexes at HO9/8 f.140-166; f.167-178. Note some of these convicts (from number 6333 on) were transferred to the Leviathan in April 1834. These are listed at HO9/8 f.320-326. These convicts have their Captivity Hulk number listed next to their new Leviathan number. Note: Other Captivity records (1822?-1834) at PRO Reel 4879 HO9/3 f.1-23.

HO9/8

f.269-295

Aug 1830-Mar 1834

Portsmouth

Index to unidentified hulk – possibly Captivity. Gives convict number and original page number on which convict appears. Note that because there was not enough room in the indexes for entries for some letters of the alphabet, a note is placed on the bottom of the index page to indicate under which letter you will find the remainder of the names for that letter of the alphabet. In some cases no indication is made. It is worth checking carefully through the whole index for sequences of letters.

Records at HO9/8 f.296-319.

HO9/8

f.296-319

Aug 1830-Mar 1834

Portsmouth

Unidentified hulk records continued – possibly Captivity. (Records continued from HO9/8 f.268). Convicts arranged by convict number ie by date received. (Convict No.s 10182-12115). Index at HO9/8 f.269-295. Note some of these convicts were transferred to the Leviathan in April 1834. These are listed at HO9/8 f.320-326. These convicts have their Captivity Hulk number listed next to their new Leviathan number.

HO9/8

f.320-353

Apr 1834-Dec 1836

Portsmouth

Leviathan records. Convicts arranged by convict number ie by date received. Convict No.s 1-2911. Note convicts on f.320-326 have 2 numbers: the first number is the number they were assigned when they were on the Captivity Hulk prior to being transferred to the Leviathan in April 1834. Records for those convicts whose first number is 6333 or higher can be found at HO9/8 f.179-268 (indexed at f.140-166 and 167-178) and HO9/8 f.296-319 (indexed at HO9/8 f.269-295). Convicts listed on f.320-326 whose first number is between 1 and 2067, are also listed on the Captivity hulk records at PRO Reel 4879 HO9/3 f.1-23. (No index). The remaining convicts listed on f.326-353 have only one number. No index could be identified for this group of Leviathan records. Many convicts identified as transferred to the Leviathan from the hulks at Bermuda.

HO9/9

Indicator Card: 1805-1831: Laurel, York, Hardy

HO9/9

f.1-13

May 1805-May 1820

Portsmouth

Index to Laurel. Index gives original page number on which the convict appears. Records at HO9/9 f.14-50.

HO9/9

f.14-50

May 1805-May 1820

Portsmouth

Laurel records. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received (Convict No.s 1-2786). Index at HO9/9. f.1-13.

HO9/9

f.51-88

May 1814-Dec 1829

Portsmouth

(Gosport)

Index to York. Index gives original page number on which the convict appears. Records at HO9/9 f. 88-155. Note: there is a further sequence of the letter R at the end of the index.

HO9/9

f.88-155

May 1814-Dec 1829

Portsmouth

(Gosport)

York. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received. (Convict Numbers 1003-7604). Index at HO9/9 f.51-88.

HO9/9

f.156-187

May 1821-May 1834

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Index to Hardy. Index gives original page number on which the convict appears. Note that because there was not enough room in the indexes for entries for some letters of the alphabet, a note is placed on the bottom of the index page to indicate under which letter you will find the remainder of the names for that letter of the alphabet. In some cases no indication is made. It is worth checking carefully through the whole index for sequences of letters. Records at HO9/9 f.188-201

HO9/9

f.188-201

Mar 1821-May 1834

Portsmouth

(Tipnor)

Hardy. Convicts arranged by convict number i.e. by date received. (Convict Numbers: 1-768). Continued on PRO Reel 4882. Index at HO9/9 f.156-187.

PRO 4882

Piece no.Folio no.DatesLocationHulk

HO9/9

f.201-256

May 1830-Mar 1834

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Hardy. Continued from PRO Reel 4881. Convicts arranged by convict number i.e. by date received. (Convict numbers: 769-5313). Records continued at HO9/9 f.294-316. Index at PRO Reel 4881 HO9/9 f.156-187.

HO9/9

f.257-258

Oct 1824-Sept 1828

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Hardy’s Sentence Book. Convicts pardoned. Arranged by date of pardon. Convicts listed here also listed at HO9/9 f.259-276. See also index at HO9/9 f.279-292.

HO9/9

f.259-276

1824?-1832?

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Hardy’s Sentence Book. Convict lists. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received. (Convict numbers 2-361). Note: Some convicts transferred to the Captivity Hulk 1826 York Hulk 1827-1832 and Leviathan 1830. Index at HO9/9 f.279-292.

HO9/9

f.277-278

Aug 1828-Dec 1832

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Hardy’s Sentence Book. Convicts pardoned. Arranged by date of pardon. Convicts listed here also listed at HO9/9 f.259-276. See also index at HO9 f.279-292.

HO9/9

f.279-292

1824-1832

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Index to Hardy’s Sentence Book. Lists convict number. Records at HO9/9 f.259-276.

HO9/9

f.294-316

Mar 1834-Dec 1836

Portsmouth (Tipnor)

Hardy. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received (Convict Nos 5313-7085). Continued from HO9/9 f.201-256. It is unclear if it is indexed at PRO Reel 4881 HO9/9 f.156-187.

HO9/10

Indicator Card: 1837-1843: Euryalus Letterbook

HO9/10

f.1-4

May 1837-May 1843

Chatham

Euryalus. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received (Convict numbers 45-145). Note: All convicts received from the following hulks: Fortitude, York, Ganymede, Warrior and Justitia hulks. No index found.

HO9/10

f.5-75

Jan 1837-May 1843

Chatham

Euryalus. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received (Convict numbers 2724-4813). Note: many convicts received from Fortitude, Ganymede, Justitia, York and Leviathan Hulks. No index found.

HO9/11

Indicator Card: 1837-1843: Fortitude Letterbook

HO9/11

f.1-167

Jan 1837-Dec 1843

Chatham

Fortitude. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received (Convict No.s 3460-8573). A few transferred from other hulks. No index found.

HO9/12

Indicator Card: 1837-1844: Ganymede and Warrior Letterbook

HO9/12

f.1-72

Jan 1837-Dec 1839

Chatham

Ganymede. Convicts arranged by convict number i.e. by date received (Convict (No.s 4007-5919). Note: at end of list "For commencement on board Warrior see next page" (ie f.73). No index found.

HO9/12

f.73-178

Jan 1840-Mar 1845

Woolwich

Warrior. Convicts arranged by convict number ie by date received (Convict No.s 1-2964). Many convicts especially from No. 2560 onwards were transferred to hulks located at Gibraltar and Bermuda. No index found. 

HO9/13

Indicator Card: 1837-1844: Justitia Letterbook

HO9/13

f.1-125

Jan 1837-Nov 1840

Woolwich

Justitia. Convicts arranged by convict number, i.e. by date received (Convict Nos 2764-6385). Note: this is a continuation of Reel 4880 HO9/4 f.246-288). Continued on PRO Reel 4883. No index. Note: Convicts here NOT indexed at PRO 4880 HO9/5 f. 76-108 or f.109-146. No index found.

PRO 4883

Piece no.Folio no.DatesLocationHulk

HO9/13

f.125-

Nov 1840-Oct 1844

Woolwich

Justitia. Convicts arranged by convict number (No.s 6385-204 8655), i.e. continued from PRO Reel 4882 HO9/13 f.1-125. Note: Convicts here NOT indexed at PRO 4880 HO9/5 f. 76-108 or f.109-146. No index found.

HO9/14

Indicator Card: Leviathan Letterbook

HO9/14

f.1-133

Jan 1837-June 1844

Portsmouth

Leviathan. Convicts arranged by convict number (No.s 912-7061). No index found.

HO9/15

Indicator Card: 1837-1843: York Letterbook

HO9/15

f.1-96

Jan 1837-Apr 1842

Gosport

York. Convicts arranged by convict number. (No.s 7097-10150. NB: Some convicts have 2 convict numbers. (ie 6-633). This sequence continued at HO9/15 f.97-139. No index found

HO9/15

f.97-139

Apr 1842-Jul 1845

Gosport

York. Convicts arranged by convict number. (No.s 634-1959). This sequence continued from HO9/15 f.1-26. No index found.

HO9/16

Indicator Card: 1847-1849: Convict Hulk Establishment Letterbook

HO9/16

f.1-116

Aug 1847-Apr 1849

Whitehall

Convict Hulk Establishment, Whitehall: Letterbook

HO9/16

f.117-124

Aug 1847-Apr 1849

Whitehall

Index to Convict Hulk Establishment Letterbook. This ‘index’ is arranged by page number (ie date) and provides a summary of each letter on the page. No alphabetical index available.