Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander visitors are kindly advised that this website includes images, sounds and names of people who have passed.
All users should be aware that some topics or historical content may be culturally sensitive, offensive or distressing, and that some images may contain nudity or are of people not yet identified. Certain words, terms or descriptions may reflect the author's/creator's attitude or that of the period in which they were written, but are now considered inappropriate in today's context.
 |
Log in as a Library member (NSW residents only) or visit the Library |
 |
Visit the Library |
 |
Freely accessible eresource |
 |
You can use Criminal registers for Middlesex, 1791–1849 (HO 26 Series 1) when you are in the Library. Can't come to the Library? Contact us. |
STEP 1
Use the Australian Joint Copying Project Handbook Part 3: Home Office ('HO 26: Criminal registers' page 24) to find the microfilm reel number that covers the date of your convict's trial. Ask at the Special Collections desk in the Mitchell Library to view the handbook.
STEP 2
Complete a stack request slip (including the microfilm reel number) to have staff collect the reel for you.
STEP 3
Search through the indexes on the reel to find your convict's name. For later registers, you will need to search through the whole year of your convict's trial or search Ancestry Library Edition - England & Wales, Criminal Registers, 1791-1892.
|
Earlier registers include indexes at the beginning of each reel. You will need to move forward carefully through the index as it may be arranged chronologically by the date and session or alphabetically by the name of the convict. For later registers, each year is arranged alphabetically. |
STEP 4
Once you have found your convict's name in the index, find the session your convict was tried at to find your convict's entry.
|
Not every register is set out in the same way. If you can't find what you are looking for, ask staff at the Special Collections desk in the Mitchell Library. Didn't find your convict's name in the registers? Try another resource to help you find the date and place of your convict's trial. |
This link opens in a new windowAlso available on Ancestry Library Edition as England & Wales, Criminal Registers, 1791-1892.
Ancestry Library Edition is only available in the Library.
These registers list all individuals in Middlesex that were charged with an indictable offence.
These records are supplemented by Greater London Records Office: Records of cases from the County of Middlesex tried in the London Criminal Court (Old Bailey) and detained in Newgate Gaol (1774-1853). You can view these records in the Mitchell Library.
